After more than a year of teases, rumors, and speculation, Microsoft has announced the finalized details and price for the mid-generation refresh previously known as Project Scorpio.

Microsoft kicked off its E3 press conference by officially announcing that Project Scorpio will, in fact, be called Xbox One X. The retail price will be USD$499, and the console releases worldwide on November 7, 2017.

As previously detailed, the console represents a massive technical leap over the base Xbox One hardware; such as 12 gigabytes of GDDRS memory; 326GB/s of memory bandwidth; and native, “true” 4K, and even a notable performance upgrade over Sony’s competing PlayStation 4 Pro (6 teraflop GPU clocked at 1.172 Ghz). Despite the hardware improvements, the new console will only receive exclusives in the form of VR titles, with more traditional software also releasing on the base Xbox One. Moreover, all Xbox One games and accessories will be compatible with Xbox One X as soon as the new system becomes available. In addition, the backwards compatibility program from Xbox 360 will be continued, and the program will be expanded to include games from the original Xbox.

For the first time ever, a console will be using a liquid-cooling system usually reserved for higher end computer systems. Also, despite the huge increase in gaming power, Xbox One X is also the smallest Xbox ever created.

For more news emerging from E3, be sure to bookmark OnlySP and follow the site on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

Dylan Warman

Brothers Developers Reveal New IP, A Way Out, at E3

Previous article

Forza Motorsport 7 Unveiled During Microsoft’s E3 Press Conference

Next article


Comments are closed.

You may also like