Creative Assembly provided some highly-anticipated details regarding the combined campaign map for Total War: Warhammer II.

Dubbed the ‘Mortal Empires’ campaign, players who own both TW: Warhammer and its upcoming sequel will have access to a free update after TW: Warhammer II is released. The free update will combine the map of the first game with that of the second. While this particular campaign will not have any story lines, it will have more traditional sandbox features found in previous titles, such as Total War: Shogun II and Total War: Attila.

However, the gargantuan map is not a direct copy of the two continents in both iterations of TW: Warhammer. Instead, Creative Assembly has made a large, individual map for this grand campaign that features the newer mechanics arriving with TW: Warhammer II. For example, all the playable races and factions from the first game will be present in ‘Mortal Empires’, with the exception of the Norsca, who will be patched in at a later date. Moreover, new elements from TW: Warhammer II will be included, such as rogue armies, storms, chokepoints, and UI tweaks. Lastly, this monster of a conquest will have 295 settlements and 117 starting factions.

Consequently, players should expect longer wait times between each turn with the abundance of factions, which is to be expected with a large playthrough.

Total War: Warhammer II is scheduled to release Thursday, September 28, 2017 for PC. Players who pre-ordered the game should already have access to the newest faction, the Norsca, in the prequel title via free DLC. Fans who did not pre-order the sequel have the option of purchasing the Norsca for USD$9.99 on Steam.

OnlySP is dedicated to providing the latest news in the world of single-player games. For more information, follow the site on Facebook and Twitter.

Dylan Warman

More NieR Projects in the Works at Square Enix

Previous article

Square Enix to Focus on “Games as a Service” Model for Future Titles

Next article


Comments are closed.

You may also like